Chairs of the Symposium

Chair of the MEEP Symposium 2023

Prof. Ioannis Ieropoulos, University of Southampton, UK

Prof. Ioannis Ieropoulos is Professor and Chair of Environmental Engineering, in the Water & Environmental Engineering Group, Department of Civil, Maritime & Environmental Engineering at the University of Southampton, UK. He has an interest in waste utilisation and energy autonomy and produced the EcoBot family of robots, powered by microbial fuel cells (MFCs) fed on organic waste; the latest example is Row-bot.
He leads a Gates Foundation funded program, developing MFCs for sanitation, looking also into biodegradable materials.

He has published >90 peer reviewed journal papers, generated >£7M of research income in the last 8 years and is frequently invited at international conferences, such as ECS.

He is a member of the EPSRC Peer Review College, a reviewer for the EU and numerous scientific Journals and the Editor in Chief for Sustainable Energy Technologies & Assessments (SETA).

Chair of the MEEP Symposium 2023

Assistant Prof. Ludovic Jourdin, Delft University of Technology, The Netherlands 

Assistant Prof. Ludovic Jourdin leads the Microbial Electrochemistry and Technology group at the Delft University of Technology, where he also co-initiated the e-Refinery institute.

His research predominantly focuses on investigating and developing microbial electrosynthesis processes for the production of chemicals, fuels, and materials from C-waste such as CO2. His group uses multiscale and multidisciplinary approaches that combines experiments, theory, and computer simulations, and integrates expertise in the fields of microbiology, physics, chemistry, (bio)process engineering, and multi-scale modelling.

Ludovic is an early-career independent PI, who has published more than 20 peer reviewed journal papers, presented at over 25 international conferences, generated in excess of €3M of research funding in the last 4 years, and is a reviewer for various research agencies and international journals.